Reviews from our Readers

door withinThe Door Within, The Rise of the Wyrm Lord, and The Final Storm  by Wayne Thomas Batson

Review by Brenna S. 

These books are an amazing blend of fantasy – complete with knights and castles – and modern-day realism. I love this series because Mr. Batson uses it to communicate the gospel of Jesus Christ and God’s plan of salvation.

Aiden’s family has moved across the country to live with his aging Grandpa. Every night Aiden has nightmares about black knights and a benevolent King. In the dreams, a powerful man with red eyes tells Aiden they could rule the world together. All Aiden has to do is deny the King. Grandpa seems to understand the meaning of Aiden’s dreams. Aiden discovers he can travel into the realm of his dreams by way of three scrolls he finds in Grandpa’s basement. He goes on an amazing adventure in which he makes close friendships, learns to sword fight, and even fights dragons. Aiden also learns about the one true king, Eliam.

The Door Within trilogy has endearing characters who will make you laugh, as well as a message which reaches into our world. I love it! 20180803_095205-1-1

Batson, Wayne Thomas. The Door Within. Thomas Nelson, 2013.


51enzLdKBAL._SX370_BO1,204,203,200_Book review by Elizabeth H. Age 10 

In The Rattlebang Picnic by Margaret Mahy, Jack McTavish and Marion McGillicuddy get married and decide to buy an old rattlebang and have a bunch of children instead of a new and expensive car and no children. The McTavishes are a happy family and they have many great adventures with Granny McTavish. In the end, the McTavishes learn that children are more of a blessing than they could ever imagine!  Elizabeth

This is definitely my all time favorite book!

Mahy, Margaret, and Steven Kellogg. The Rattlebang Picnic. Puffin Books, 1998.



Book Review by writer Sierra Peterson

A fantastic read! The characters in this story are well thought out and believable. I fell in love with them instantly.
R.K. Lander did a brilliant job having her main character, Fel’annar, deal with racism and self-worth throughout the story. Readers can relate to these issues and are easily drawn into her struggle.
My only criticism has to do with the names of the characters. They were difficult to pronounce and some were given additional names which was confusing.
The plot is original and engaging from the start. The first chapter throws readers right into the action along with the warriors of the kingdom.
A wonderful and exciting read. I give Path of a Novice 4.5 out of 5 stars and am looking forward to the sequel.
Lander, R. K. Path of a Novice. 2017.
Sierra Peterson loves to dive into books, whether reading or writing them and can often be found in her book corner with a hot cup of coffee. But when she’s not there, she can be found playing guitar, having coffee with friends, or planting flowers in the greenhouse where she works part-time.  


A review by Janice C. Garey

This book takes children back into the Bible story of Adam in the Garden of Eden via a homemade time machine. The story, nicely paced, can be either read alone by the child, or a parent or sibling could read it to younger children.

I believe it would be best to first build a foundation for the child in the true Bible story before reading this story in case a child might have trouble discerning what are the facts and what part is fictional. This applies more, of course, to younger children than to older ones. The story is really good to help the child consider what it would have been like to experience the Bible story personally.

It seems some children have a jumble of Bible stories in their head, perhaps from sporadic attendance at church, so this book series is perfect to dispel confusion as to sequence of the Bible stories if the books are read in order. A timeline project could be set up to give more learning value and hands on experience with the series.

Click to buy: Bible Characters Through the Ages



Jann W. Martin—author, teacher, speaker and blogger— Her dream is to captivate the hearts of children, by writing stories that teach them of the Bible through the eyes of a child. She has a B.A. from Michigan State University, Commissioned, Associate in Ministry from Trinity Lutheran Seminary. You can join her at, Facebook, Pinterest, LinkedIn, Twitter and Google+