Lessons Plans Available



Prince Caspian by C. S. Lewis

In Prince Caspian, C.S. Lewis takes us back to Narnia. Although it has only been a year since Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy left Narnia as Kings and Queens, hundreds of Narnian years have passed. Narnia is now held by a usurper to the throne, King Miraz. His nephew the rightful king of Narnia, Prince Caspian, fled for his life.  In desperate need, Caspian blows Susan’s horn calling Aslan and the ancient Kings and Queens into Narnia. Can Peter, Edmund, Susan and Lucy help Caspian take the throne from Miraz? Read this thrilling adventure to find out.

Prince Caspian, along with all the Chronicles of Narnia are a delight for readers of all ages. Lewis’ analogies provide parents ample opportunity to discuss the Christian worldview with their children. A must read!

Lewis, C. S. Prince Caspian. HarperCollins Children’s Books, 2014.

LPFL Prince Caspian


Born Again by Charles Colson and/or

The autobiography of Charles Colson, once Counsel to President Nixon, convicted and imprisoned for obstruction to justice in the Watergate trials. This is the story of his conviction and conversion to Christianity. It is a timely book in light of our current political/media climate. Colson founded Prison Fellowship Ministries International and went on to author over 22 books in his lifetime.IMG_4402

Colson, Charles W. Born Again. Baker Pub. Group, 2008.

Lesson Plan for Literature – Autobiographies

Through Gates of Splendor by Elizabeth Elliott

In this book, Elizabeth Elliott, tells the story of her missionary journey with first husband and martyr, Jim Elliott. They went to Ecuador with four other couples to minister to unreached tribal communities with the gospel of Jesus Christ. This book tells the story of their mission and the murder of the five husbands by the Waodani warriors.

Elliot, Elisabeth. Through Gates of Splendor. Tyndale House Publishers, 1996.


A Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

The three Baudelaire children are orphaned and sent to live with supposed relative, Count Olaf. But find their living situation is miserable and their guardian is only after their inheritance. Although cleverly written, the story is truly unfortunate. The adults portrayed in the books are either imbeciles, villains, or likely to be killed. However, my children enjoyed the story and we ended up reading the entire series.BadBeginning

Snicket, Lemony, and Brett Helquist. The Bad Beginning. Thorndike Press, 2000.

LPFL A Bad Beginning





The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett


Ten-year old Mary Lennox was born in India to wealthy British parents who left her upbringing to their servants. She was spoiled and selfish. A cholera epidemic kills her parents and she is sent to England to live with a wealthy uncle. But once again Mary is neglected and left to her own devices. Until Mary finds a secret garden which brings animal-loving Dickon, her sickly cousin Colin, and Uncle Craven together in this classic mysterious story.

First published in 1911, The Secret Garden continues to thrill young and old readers alike. It’s one of my all-time favorites!

Howe, James, et al. The Secret Garden. Random House, 2004.

A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

LPFL Little Princess and The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett


Sara Crewe grew up in India, but at the onset of World War I, her father procured her a place at a very prestigious boarding school in England. Every comfort was provided for her and she was a favorite in the school – until news of her father’s death and subsequent loss of fortune. Orphaned and without a relative in the world, Sara was forced into servitude for her upkeep. Unwanted and mistreated by the headmistress, Miss Minchin, Sara learns how to keep hope alive.

A Little Princess is a wonderful illustration of how imagination can magically sustain hope in the direst of situations. A good read for any age!


Misty of Chincoteague, by Marguerite Henry

Misty_of_Chincoteague_coverPaul and Maureen Beebee are orphaned and go to live with their grandparents in Virginia. When they become enraptured by a wild Chincoteague pony on Assateague Island, they determine to get her for their own. But capturing and taming the wild mare is more difficult than the Beebee children anticipated.

This delightful award-winning book is a must read for all elementary children. Inspired by real events, there is enough fact behind the fiction to make this into a unit study on the history of Assateague ponies.

Henry, Marguerite, and Wesley Dennis. Misty of Chincoteague. Aladdin Paperbacks, an Imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division, 2017.

LPFL Misty of Chincoteague

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s