On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

By Andrew Peterson

The first book of the Wingfeather Saga, On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness was enchanting and thrilling.

Janner, Tink, and Leeli Igiby live in a cottage with their mother and grandfather in the small town at the edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness and long for adventure. They love hearing stories from their grandfather’s sea-faring days and look forward to the Dragon Day Festival each year. But life in Glipwood is far from ordinary. Fangs of Dang govern by fear, the Dark Carriage kidnaps children from their beds, and horned hounds and toothy cows prowl in the woods.

Peterson weaves Christian themes of honor, unconditional love, and redemptive hope throughout the Wingfeather series. But like the Harry Potter series, the presence of evil increased with each book making them feel darker.

I recommend these books to middle school and high school readers. Mistreatment of children, family separation, and darker elements may disturb younger readers.

Peterson, Andrew. On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness. Hodder & Stoughton, 2020. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s