Twenty Years of Newberry Winners

John Newberry was an 18th Century, British publisher, called the ‘Father of Children’s Literature’ because he was the first to make literature for children sustainable and profitable. The Newberry Medal was named for him and is awarded by the American Library Association to the author whose book is considered the most distinguished contribution of American literature for children each year.

I will be reviewing the last twenty years of Newberry winners, as well as some of my favorites from earlier years. (BB signifies that a review can be found on

Here’s the countdown from 2019:

2019 Merci Suarez Changes Gears by Meg Medina – Candlewick Press – BB

2018 Hello Universe by Erin Estrada Kelly – Greenwillow Books/HarperCollins – BB

2017 The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill – BB – Algonquin Young Readers/ Workman

2016 Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Pena – GP Putnam’s Sons / Penguin

2015 The Crossover by Kwame Alexander – HMH Books for Young Readers

2014 Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Cate DiCamillo – Candlewick Press – BB

2013 The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate – HarperCollins Children’s Books

2012 Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos – Farrar Straus Giroux

2011 Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool – Delacorte Press

2010 When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead – Wendy Lamb Books/ Random House Children’s Books

2009 The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman – HarperCollins

2008 Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schlitz – Candlewick Press

2007 The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron – Simon & Schuster/Richard Jackson

2006 Criss Cross by Lynn Rae Perkins –  GreenWillow Books/ HarperCollins

2005 Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata -Atheneum Books for Young Readers/ Simon & Schuster

2004 The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread by Cate DiCamillo – Candlewick Press

2003 Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi – Hyperion Books for Children

2002 A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park – Clarion Books/Houghton Mifflin

2001 A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck – Dial

2000 Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis – Delacorte Press

1999 Holes by Louis Sachan – Frances Foster


Older Newberry Medal winners – Classics you don’t want to miss reading along with your kids!

1996 The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman – Clarion Books

1994 The Giver by Lois Lowry – Houghton Press

1990 Number the Stars by Lois Lowry – Houghton Press

1987 The Whipping Boy by Sid Fleischman – BB – Greenwillow Press

1986 Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan – BB – Harper Books

1984 Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary – BB – Morrow Books

1963 A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle –  BB – Farrar Straus Giroux

1962 The Bronze Bow by Elizabeth George Speare – BB – Houghton Press

1959 The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare – BB – Houghton Press

1958 Rifles for Watie by Harold Keith – BB – Crowell Press

1956 Carry On, Mr. Bowditch by Jean Lee Latham – BB – Houghton Press



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s