My Favorite Caldecott Medal Winners

The Caldecott Medal “shall be awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American Picture Book for Children published in the United States during the preceding year. The award shall go to the artist, who must be a citizen or resident of the United States, whether or not he be the author of the text. Members of the Newbery Medal Committee will serve as judges. If a book of the year is nominated for both the Newbery and Caldecott Awards the committee shall decide under which heading it shall be voted upon, so that the same title shall not be considered on both ballots.”

My all-time favorite Caldecott Medal winning books:

2019 Hello Lighthouse by Sophie Blackall (Little, Brown)

2016 Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear illustrated Sophie Blackall; text: Lindsay Mattick (Little, Brown/Hachette)

2013 This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen (Candlewick Press)

2011 A Sick Day for Amos McGee illustrated by Erin E. Stead; text: Philip C. Stead  (Neal Prter Books/Roaring Brook Press/Macmillan)

2008 The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick (Scholastic Press)

2007 Flotsam by David Wiesner (Clarion)

2003 My Friend Rabbit by Eric Rohmann (Roaring Brook Press/Millbrook Press)

2002 The Three Pigs by David Wiesner (Clarion/Houghton Mifflin)

1994 Grandfather’s Journey illustrated by Allen Say; text: edited by Walter Lorraine (Houghton)

1992 Tuesday by David Wiesner (Clarion Books)

1990 Lon Po Po: A Red-Riding Hood Story from China by Ed Young (Philomel)

1988 Owl Moon illustrated by John Schoenherr; text: Jane Yolen (Philomel)

1986 The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg (Houghton)

1982 Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg (Houghton)

1980 Ox Cart Man illustrated by Barbara Cooney; text: Donald Hall (Viking)

1970 Sylvester and the Magic Pebble by Willian Steig (Windmill Books)

1969 The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship illustrated by Uri Shulevitz; text: Retold by Arthur Ransome (Farrar)

1964 Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak (Harper)

1963 The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats (Viking)

1958 Time of Wonder by Robert McCloskey (Viking)

1942 Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey (Viking)

1940 Abraham Lincoln by Ingri and Edgar Rarin d’Aulaire  (Doubleday)


Admin. “The Randolph Caldecott Medal.” Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), 12 Jan. 2017,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s